I had fully intended to start my Year of Data on my 41st birthday in Mid-December.  But, as it turned out, the perfect storm of birthday celebrations, holiday celebrations, vacation, and an unfortunate destruction of my Fitbit sent me way off the wagon.

I learned a lot though.  The power of food logging is apparent in the following chart of my weight in the past month:

[Sorry for no date scale on the plot…it starts in mid-November, about the time I started this blog.  In a month, I lost about 5 lbs.  The low point is in mid-December, just before my birthday, when my data logging went off the rails. The last point is this morning].    You can see the slow gain of weight since mid-Dec, with Christmas cookies and treats readily available, and without the penalty of feeling like I have to log everything I eat.

Anyway, here we are in the New Year, and as of this morning, I am re-dedicated to the plan.   I’ve got a new Fitbit, I’ve got my data plan sorted out, and will be posting my data for the first time in the coming I’ve weeks.  got a bunch of ideas for new blog posts as well so the site won’t be quite as dead as it has been in the last few weeks.

Most importantly, a happy and healthy new year of data to all of you out there!

